turnnpoint

Reaction score
I purchased a plane recently that came with an iFly 720 on the panel. I have an iFly GPS subscription and have the app on my Android phone, Android tablet, and laptop. I also have a Stratux.

I've looked the 720 Manual from the website over several times - it seems sort of sparse.

When I pull up updates it says my subscription is expired. I'm guessing the device is still registered to the previous owner. Can I get it changed and covered under my subscription?

Are there software updates for this device?

Can it be connected to my Stratux and show traffic?

Is it worth the effort or should I remove it and mount my Android tablet in place of it?

TIA for any help!

I don't work for AP/iFly, but I would think you should be able to contact the office and have them transfer the registration to you.

Depending on when it was last updated, there should be one from about a year ago. They are not planning any more software updates for the 7XX units, as they don't have the processor ability to run the new features. If you use iFly Connect ( http://www.iflyefb.com/iFlyConnect ) any pertinent software updates should be there, once you have it registered to you.

I never had a 720, but I'm pretty sure that it's essentially the same as my 740 except the 740 has an internal battery, and the 740 will connect to Stratux, and a host of other ADSB devices, so it's likely the 720 will as well.

Can't answer if it's worth it, only you can. Do you want a dedicated device to run iFly? Do you like the idea of it being (I presume) hard wired into the aircraft? Do you like having a backup on a different OS in case one of them has a glitch?

Be aware that the 7XX devices are running iFly GPS, the new version is, or will be iFly EFB. EFB has several improvements, and will continue to improve. iFly GPS is no longer being updated, although you still will be able to update the map files, transfer/share information between the iFly EFB and iFLY GPS, etc.